In your thirst for knowledge, be sure not to drown in all the information.  ~Anthony J. D’Angelo, The College Blue Book

I had a great conversation with a fellow educator in regards to the future of education. He brought to my attention that with the increase use of technology in the music industry has resulted in the lack of true creativity, originality and quality of music. Is this issue the same in education? Or… Is the increase of electronic gadgetry in our lives crippling our dendrite expansion? Please reflect on those questions before you respond if you care to.

One example of how technology is limiting our thinking is to ask yourself, how many phone numbers do you know by memory that is programmed in your cell phone. Honestly, I don’t think I can remember any more numbers than the fingers on one hand.

Anyway, I ran into the above quote by Mr. D’Angelo this evening. In my humble opinion, I believe that a thirst for knowledge should be in the hearts of our learners. So, is it really a disservice to deny student use of technology such as using iPods & cell phones for education; and are we  missing an opportunity to engage our millennials to use these devices.

I guess I’ll leave the answers to the real decision makers and see what will happen within five or less years from today.

