I ran into an outstanding article from my last newsletter from the NCCTM (NC Council of Teachers of Mathmatics)-The Centroid. I really have to give credit to Tyrette Carter and Loury Floyd for these twenty ways to enhance all students’ mathematical learning. For the next few weeks, everyday I will share one of the twenty and expound on each concept.

1. Teach for understanding – The authors in the article stress that to develop an understanding of a concept, you must provide experiences that concentrates on conceptual understanding. When students are allowed to process their ideas, a connection between conceptual and procedual knowledge is developed.

In my honest opinion, I believe that this ia an area where I believe where educators struggle; and that is including myself. Can you have mastery without understanding? Sounds like a no-brainer, right? What do you think?

