DirectTV is about to launch some very special technology this month. Starting on June 11, they will broadcast the 2010 FIFA WorldCup in HD 3D! Unfortunately, you MUST have an official 3D TV to see the special effects. Right now, I believe Panasonic is leading the way with this technology with DirectTV. Haven’t heard much HD 3D news from LG, Vizio, Samsung or Sony. However I know they will push some quality TVs too but I am wondering on the $$$ tags, ya dig?

I also haven’t been by BestBuy lately to see if any are on the shelf, but word on the street that the price of these sets will be reduced for consumers to get hooked. I can see how these TVs will lower the cost of NON-3D sets (thinking about selling mine now!)  and the benefit of bars/pubs to pick these up as gimmicks to lure customers that cannot affort but desire to watch that big game in 3D. Yes, the future of television is here…

