Today, I had a great brief conversation with a colleague in regards to how some middle schoolers still look for that hug that they used to give their elementary school teachers.

As we all know that times has changed. There are people out there that should not hug or even be around children as this article further elaborates. From further research, I ran into another article where a 4-yr old was suspended for inappropriately hugging a teacher. Not cool…

This makes a great case for parents not to decrease but increase their involvement in school through out their child’s secondary educational career. I’ve even noticed in my own parenting with daughter in the 7th grade, it is too easy to slack up in monitoring your child progress in school as compared to when the primary years.

My question to you is could the missing love correlate to the historic drop of school achievement from elementary to middle school?

